I’m Still Waiting for the Other Shoe to…

at least scuff the floor!!

The day started well, very well. Rogan, Mike and I woke McKade up for his first day of kindergarten. He was groggy, but not grumpy! He followed all directions, got dressed without complaint, ate his breakfast, and allowed me to take a bunch of pictures!! He was quite the pleasant boy!

He did express some minor hesitation regarding riding the big, yellow bus, but after some minor cajoling, he was back to tip-top confidence regarding his chosen method of transportation.

The bus came at 7:40ish am, and he was the first to board. Mike stood in the background, operating the camera while I ‘mother henned’ the situation up front and center. And I kid you not, the moment the bus pulled away, I let the tears go…I was sobbing…into my good husband’s shirt. Don’t misunderstand me, the tears are for joy, and excitement, and for change!

The whole day passed by without a hitch. There were NO frantic calls from the school begging me to come and pick up my little broken boy. Rogan and I accomplished all two things on my list and despite some serious initial opposition from him, he ended up napping like a champ.

I waited and watched the clock for a couple of hours, feeling the impending fear that my little/big boy would come home in a state of sheer exhaustion. I made a batch of his favorite chocolate chip mini muffins (as my Mum had suggested doing something special for him…) and he scarfed down 6 of them…but actually, 4 were the chocolate chip, the other two were blueberry, which up until today were NOT among his CHOSEN foods…then he asked to go out to play. I had all but set up a bed for him on the couch thinking his energy would be depleted and even in the negatives.

But I agreed to some outdoor playtime, what Mom would deny her son such fun? He played and played and played and played, without major incident until dinner.

Then he ate, and ate and ate and ate…more than I would have guessed since just hours earlier he had polished off half a dozen muffins. He ‘WII’d’ a bit with Daddy and Rogan, then relaxed on the couch for a spell, and went to bed SANS complaint—no tantrums—no breakdowns—the other shoe never dropped.

McKade sailed through his maiden voyage without a glitch!

I am the proud and pleased Momma of a 5 1/2 year old little man.

Tagged , , ,

3 thoughts on “I’m Still Waiting for the Other Shoe to…

  1. Crazy like a chicken says:

    I’m so glad the day went by without a hitch. Already in kindergarten…..where did the time go?

  2. Regan says:

    Awwww…congrats!

  3. Kjirsten says:

    Yay! That’s awesome!

Leave a Reply

