Confessions From A Mom

There are times throughout my parenting career that I have done something, or rather, NOT done something, and felt the need to ‘confess my sins’ to a friend or my husband. I think this is ok!

For example, my husband recently discovered that the diaper Rogan was wearing was obscenely, shockingly, overwhelmingly very full of pee! As I overheard him comment about the weight of the diaper, I suddenly realized I had not changed that poor boy since 11am or so that morning. It was now bedtime, 7pm-ish.

“Oh my Gawd”, I thought, reflecting on the day and trying to remember why in the hell I had forgotten this little tid bit of my parenting responsibility. Well, it turns out, in retrospect, that I had mistakenly confused that day’s diaper schedule with the previous day. I had changed his diaper on Tuesday right before nap time, but not on Wednesday. And so my poor little Rogan had spent an almost entire day in a diaper that grew increasingly bigger and bigger, and wetter and wetter. Damn!

Needless to say, I felt terrible, neglectful even. But instead of dwelling and kicking myself for it, I apologized to Rogan and told him I would do better the next day. And I did. I think. I’m kidding.

Anyway the point is, we forget, we overlook, we zone out and lose track of the hour, the day, the year…wait is that just me?

From this point forward, I would like to officially volunteer to listen, without judgment (yeah right), to your confessions of parenting sins…perhaps we can even discuss absolution!

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “Confessions From A Mom

  1. Erin says:

    That is hilarious. I have done that is well. Actually there’s been more than one occassion that I thought, well, I guess I got my money’s worth out of that diaper!

  2. outspokenandunderpaid says:

    Erin, What a brilliant perspective…thinking about a very full diaper as having gotten your moneys’ worth!! I love it!

Leave a Reply

