As The Dust Settles After Our Three Day Birthday Celebration Comes To A Close!!

By the way, that is my longest title of a post yet!

The in-laws arrived on Saturday afternoon and my mother arrived Saturday night. The in-laws left Sunday afternoon and my Mum left Monday morning!
And although hosting family can be stress-inducing, it was just what I needed. My Mum, MIL, and I sat and talked on Saturday night until around 1am!! We (my Mum and I) were able to polish off 2 bottles of wine and discuss some really difficult family shit. But it was good.

At one point we talked about the stress of prepping for visitors and they said, “Oh, you don’t have to clean for us, we’re family!” But let’s face it, I don’t clean until they come so I had better wipe a toilet or two and suffer the stress! I am not the best housewife at all!!

Since moving to this house it seems we have hosted more and more events. And I am really starting to enjoy the closeness that comes from being in my territory with my Mum and Mother in Law. I am already starting to plan Thanksgiving, we’re hosting again this year. I have found some recipes that are new twists on old favorites…although the old favorites are usually received so well, why mess with a good thing?

I have tons of laundry this week, since I didn’t do jack shit last week. And I’m slowly ramping up to return to my workout regimen. Life is getting back to normal.

And for those of you who have experienced terrential rain, you have my sympathies. We discovered a very wet section in the basement yesterday and the drying out process began. But you know what? it was just a blip on the screen of potential residual hurricane damage. My kids are good, my husband is good…my family is good and my house is still standing and the major majority of it is DRY!! I am blessed!

Have a good Monday!

P.S. Did anyone happen to catch Saturday Night Live?  Check it out…click here: Tina Fey playing Sarah Palin??

Tagged ,

One thought on “As The Dust Settles After Our Three Day Birthday Celebration Comes To A Close!!

  1. Regan says:

    My stepdad said that for our region (KY-Southern OH – Southern IN) what we got yesterday was still an actual HURRICAINE. Dood. I live in landbound Kentucky…and we actually experienced Hurricaine Ike…DIRECTLY?! WTF?!

Leave a Reply

