What Might Be Written in My Obituary

We were all notified today via email whether or not we were given a part in The King and I. And I did not impress enough to be given a role. This is not a surprise. And, if I’m being honest, and I usually am, there is a tiny bit of disappointment.

But perhaps it is my optimism, my ability to find the silver lining that I am able to stand back and say, “Hey, it’s ok!! I’m still busy and very happy!” You see, since McKade started school, I went and stuck my finger in quite a few pies.

I’m on the PTA at Mack’s school, even co-chairing a committee, I’m teaching a Silver Sneakers class to older adults at my gym one day a week, and Rogan and I are now making weekly visits to a nearby assisted living facility. I went from doing nothing to almost doing too much. Plus, I have been bitten by the football bug, and I have plans to follow them this season!! And I’m happy. With the addition of even one more thing to my calendar, I might have been pushed over the edge. There will be other productions, perhaps not so musical in nature, and I will try again!

No one can ever accuse me of not stepping out of my comfort zone. I even joked around the other day, that might be what’s written in my obituary: Tanzie Nielsen died happily, having found the courage to step out of her comfort zone A LOT!!!

Tagged , , ,

6 thoughts on “What Might Be Written in My Obituary

  1. Emily says:

    You go girl! I know someday you will get the Oscar that you so deserve. And forgive my ignorance but what is a silver sneakers class?

  2. outspokenandunderpaid says:

    I don’t need an Oscar, just a Mike, a McKade and a Rogan!! But thanks for the vote of confidence Emily!!

  3. Emily says:

    Hey wait a minute!….What about the silver sneakers club? The suspense is killing me! I’m using exclamation points for god’s sake!!!!

  4. Erin says:

    I wondered that same thing about the silver sneaker club? Old people working out?!!!
    And way to go Tanzie for having an awesome attitude and trying out in the first place!!!!

  5. good for you . that is very hard to get out of your zone.

  6. outspokenandunderpaid says:

    Silver Sneakers IS in fact an exercise class for older adults or adults with limited mobility. We focus on range of motion as well as increasing muscle strength and I love it! The group is great. They are so much fun and we usually have a good workout and a good laugh!!

    And by the way, I didn’t realize the suspense was building about the Silver Sneakers response!! I didn’t intend to do that. But now that I think about it, I’m kind of digging the fact that I was able to create some suspense! hehehehe!

Leave a Reply

