Following Up On #4

He used to be my brother-in-law but now he’s not…

I’m referring of course to Greg.  Candice, my sister, and Greg met in college.  They began dating, then broke up, got back together, broke up again, and so on and so forth.  (Please know that for the sake of keeping this post short, I am selectively editing the course of their often tumultuous but seemingly eternal love for one another!)

They eventually married in’97, but then guess what?  They divorced about three years later.  While apart,  they each dated others but never really found what they wanted.

Then in 2004 they rediscovered each other and the rest as they say is history.  Candice moved out to Portland, OR in November of that year and they have been together, and happy, ever since!

Ironically, both my Mum and I maintained some contact with Greg throughout the time Candice and he were apart.  Greg felt like family to me and I never wanted to completely let go of him.  And in all honesty, I think deep down I always knew that they should be together.  I never gave up hope.  I suppose in a way what I did and how I felt isn’t much different from what children experience when their parents divorce, always wishing that they would reunite.  I know about that one too!

But I got my wish!  I love Candice and I love Greg and I love them together.

Tagged

One thought on “Following Up On #4

  1. anne says:

    Oh my god. I think we could write a joint blog…He/She Use to be my brother-in-law/step-mom/dad’s girlfriend/step-mom’s husband but now they are just…..a friend. The crazy symantecs of the dysfunction that results from divorce….only another divorced kid can understand! And doesn’t it just make you appreciate your outside family- the people you have surrounded yourself with- even more? Great post. Made me smile and think about all of the Used To Be’s in my life!

Leave a Reply

