This Scares Me

~postsecret

I recently met a family with an autistic child.  I think about them a lot.  We spent a couple of hours together talking, actually I spent the time asking questions and they spent the time answering questions.  I have never known a family with an autistic child,  and I was eager to discuss the topic.  I appreciated their willingness to inform and educate someone such as myself, who happens to be very ignorant about this controversial condition.

Much of the information they shared with me has weighed heavily.

  • Did you know that there appears to be a connection between the presence of heavy metals in children with Autism?
  • Did you know that many vaccines contain aluminum, formaldehyde, and animal viral antibodies?
  • Did you know that the removal of heavy metals can increase the social functioning of autistic children?
  • Are you familiar with the term “blood brain barrier”?

I am without a doubt very ignorant on this issue, but my interest has increased greatly since meeting this family.  I am fearful that the collective decisions we have made regarding the health and well being of our children, has actually contributed to their dysfunction.

To think that doing things differently, giving vaccines later rather then earlier, could have spared many children and their families unnecessary illness and subsequent difficulties is mind numbing.  We owe it to ourselves and our children and the children who have yet to be born to learn more about this insidious epidemic.

Some of the websites I visited include:
  1. http://www.autismangelspurse.com/spofa6.html
  2. http://autism-therapy.suite101.com/article.cfm/detoxification_for_heavy_metals_in_autism
  3. http://www.ninds.nih.gov/disorders/autism/detail_autism.htm

5 thoughts on “This Scares Me

  1. Sarah says:

    I have a cousin who has triplet boys and each of them was diagnosed with Autism. I can’t even imagine how difficult it would be to try to figure out one autistic child let alone three.

  2. Sarah says:

    They were pretty little, under two years old I think. Their mother is a SLP so I think she noticed signs very early. One of them is less affected than the other two, but all three are “mainstream” I believe.

  3. Sarah says:

    I had to come back and tell you about a book that my cousin’s wife (mentioned above) is reading right now. I thought you might want to check it out…

    Look Me In The Eye by Jim Elder Robinson (brother of author Augustin Burroughs). Jim has Asperger’s and writes about having Asperger’s.

  4. Tanzie says:

    Thanks Sarah! I will check it out!

Leave a Reply

