Hesitation

I’ve been hesitant to post about about my trip to Portland.  On the one hand my sister and I completely reconnected and thoroughly enjoyed spending time together.  We have concluded that we are twins, only we were born 2 1/2 years apart.

p4030013

On the other hand, I experienced some extreme difficulty with my father.  The kind of difficulty that is causing me to closely examine my realtionship with him.  It’s not that shit hit the fan for the first time while we were in Portland, it’s been hitting the fan with him off and on for years, and what occurred in Portland may have brought everything to a head.

I’m trying to decide how far I can go with airing my dirty laundry, I’m wondering if there are boundaries that should be respected when blogging about a family member.  Part of me really wants to put it all out there in the universe and let the chips fall where they may.  And the other part of me wants to respect his privacy even though I’m feeling like he doesn’t even deserve that right now.

At least I know that I have a confidant in my sister.  And I also know that a good friend of mine happens to be the adult child of a man who has made some questionable choices in his life too.  Anne, I might be calling you soon!

5 thoughts on “Hesitation

  1. anne says:

    call anytime.

  2. Hannah says:

    On the interwebz there are no take backs, chose wisely. Hope all resolves itself soon.

    • outspokenandunderpaid says:

      Very well said Hannah!

      Although there is no quick resolution to this predicament seeing as how it involves another human, and some humans tend to drag their feet when dealing with conflict and resolution.

  3. Crazy like a chicken says:

    Please call me whenever you want! There is no such thing as TMI in my vocabulary!!! Maybe we can share together? I can’t get past the fact that I absolutely hate my sis-in-law, and it saddens me. I don’t know how to get past it, or if I ever can.

    Your friend is right though, a complete “airing-out” on the blog is not the best avenue. There is a time and a place for everything. I’ve had to hold myself back from time to time!

Leave a Reply

