Wednesday is Cake Day

Well, at least today was.  We’ll see what next Wednesday brings.

So here’s the story.  I’ve never been one to enjoy baking cakes.  I much preferred ordering one…but not some big fancy, schmancey overpriced concoction.  Just something that will provide at least one piece for everyone present, and also something with a design that will make my boys  feel like they are getting exactly what they wanted.

But, I have a friend, Heather, who bakes cakes for the special occasions in her life and she has been encouraging me and supporting me in my desire to do the same.  My main motive for finally converting to the homemade variety: SAVING MONEY!!

So for Mike’s birthday, I baked him a cake, seen here:

"Chocolate Rock Cake" as named by McKade!

"Chocolate Rock Cake" as named by McKade!

I went all out in the chocolate department.  McKade decided that the crushed chocolate on the side of the cake looked like rocks, thus we named the cake “Chocolate Rock Cake!”  It wasn’t the prettiest cake, but it was enjoyed by all.

Baking that cake for Mike got me thinking about trying another one.  So  I mentioned this to him but then commented that I had no occasion for which to bake another cake.  His reply?  “Bake one for Wednesday.”  I quickly did a mental calendar check desperately trying to remember what Wednesday’s occasion would be.  I could think of nothing.  I asked him, and he stated simply, that a Wednesday was as good a time as any to bake a cake.  So I did.  And here it is:

Lemon Cake with Cream Cheese Icing

Lemon Cake with Cream Cheese Icing served with a side of Mike!

My husband was so freaking happy when he came home and I told the “Wednesday Cake” I had baked.  He thinks this will be a “regular Wednesday thing”.  (My belly and thighs beg to differ!)

*Both cakes were made from a box.  The chocolate one also had store bought icing and the chocolate decorations were my doing.  The icing on the lemon cake was from scratch.  My plan is to master the box cakes with homemade icing and then I might get bold and try baking cakes completely from scratch.

2 thoughts on “Wednesday is Cake Day

  1. Crazy like a chicken says:

    I’m SOOOO proud of you!! I still make boxed cakes (for chocolate cakes anyway) and ALWAYS make my own frosting. Take a look at the ingredients on a can of frosting – DISGUSTING!! Woo Hoo, welcome to the fun and tasty world of us Suzy Home Makers!!

Leave a Reply

