“She is so going to talk about religion in her blog!”

After recently getting connected with Benchmarks, a local fund raising organization, I started thinking more about my beliefs, my pro-choice stance and my thoughts on religion.

You see, I have not practiced any religion since, um, turning 6.  Hmmm, let’s see, that’s about 29 years ago, and that also coincides with our move to America.  I’m going to take a wild stab at it and say that any religious influence we had in our lives while living in Scotland was brought to us via the grandparents.  My parents did not continue any kind of religious tradition once away from their parents, although from time to time, we were invited by friends to partake in several Jewish celebrations, and we almost always went.

I think if I were forced at gunpoint to had to pick a religion, I would align myself with Judaism.  And I would do so for several reasons:

  1. I have many ancestors who are Jewish!
  2. Both my Mother and Father are Jewish!
  3. I participated in more Jewish celebrations than anything else, unless of course you count Christmas, but I don’t!
  4. The Jews are The Chosen People, and come on, how fucking cool is that?
  5. I feel ferocious when I think about the Holocaust and what was done to the Jews, knowing that quite possibly one or more of my relatives was greatly affected by this  horrific event.
  6. I am more willing to believe that we have not yet seen the coming of “the savior” rather than thinking that Jesus Christ was it.  [And just for the record, in this instance I am WAY more agnostic than anything else…I heard someone use the term “reverent agnostic” once, and frankly that shoe fits really damn well!]
  7. The food!
  8. They have great hair!
  9. I keep (in the loosest sense of the word) Kosher simply because I’m a vegetarian…I don’t eat pork, and I don’t do meat and dairy together, I don’t eat crab, lobster, octopus, clam, swordfish, sturgeon…you see where I’m going with this…I’m Kosher by default!
  10. And last but not least, have you seen my nose?!?!?

But seriously, the issue of religion is overwhelming and intriguing all at the same time.  I respect and welcome all definitions of “God” into the conversation.  What I can’t stand is when one religion is held up over all others.  What I can’t stand is when religion is used to infringe upon the safety and well-being of others.

It’s OK in my book to talk about religion.  Shit, it’s OK in my book to talk about anything you damn well want to talk about.  And I am proud of that.  I encourage that and I welcome that.

We can even throw around a few words about abortion and politics.

Leave a Reply

