From Point A to Point B

It’s interesting to me how one thought can lead to another thought and then another thought and before you realize, you miss your hometown and the fact that you haven’t taken your children for a long enough visit to their maternal grandmother or the city you grew up in.  This sounds oddly specific doesn’t it?  Well, it is.

This morning it began innocently enough with a blackberry yogurt for Rogan.  I was trying to entice him a bit as it was a switch from his regular vanilla, and I explained that his favorite jelly is blackberry, and that there are even ice cream flavors like blackberry and black raspberry.  Suddenly I thought of Graeter’s Black Raspberry Mocha Chip, and the fact that my boys have not had it yet.  Nor have they been to the Cincinnati Zoo, nor have they been to the Museum at Union Terminal, nor have they been able to spend any quality time at my Mum’s house.

You see, the current issue with my Mum’s house is this: her only full bathroom on the second floor is relatively out of commission.  She’s been having it remodeled for what seems like 3 years now, and many times she has had to interrupt progress because of some other money-requiring emergency that can’t wait.  She has a shower in the dark, creepy, dungenous basement, 2 floors away, and she has a working 1/2 bath on the first floor, and I may sound like a spoiled brat, but when you throw kids into the mix you have to really think about bathrooms and stuff like that.  If it were just me, I wouldn’t really give a damn.

So I called my Mum and shared my sadness and the fact that I really want to get the boys there for a weekend, and surprisingly she has been planning to get that bathroom completely finished very soon.

The tentative plan is for a weekend in October.  And I can hardly wait.  Graeter’s, here we come!!

8 thoughts on “From Point A to Point B

  1. Regan says:

    Weird…I recall your mom remodeling her bathroom when we were in HIGH SCHOOL. It can’t be the same remodel, but it does seem in keeping with my memories of your mom’s house. LOL! I know, it’s a different house, too.

  2. Tanzie says:

    It probably was the same bathroom…at the house on Fairview…same bathroom…new remodel!!

  3. Colleen says:

    When I went to Miami U, I remember a trip to Cinci and my first time to Graeter’s. Love the Mint Chocolate chip…yummmm. I hope it all works out. That will be a fun trip for the boys. Cincinnati Zoo ROCKS!

  4. The Chexican says:

    When you make your trip, let me know! Maybe we can meet up; we have annual family passes to both the Cincinnati Zoo and The Museum Center.

  5. Sarah says:

    It’s so much fun to see all of your childhood memories through your kids eyes for their first time. I love to take my kids home to WI each time we go we have certain places that we need to visit and certain things we need to eat.

    I want in on a Cinci Zoo meet up!

  6. Deb says:

    Okay – GW re-do at the zoo, let us know. Starting 10/10 on weekends, it’s Hallzooween at the zoo – bring thier costumes!!! OMG I’m getting so excited already!!!

Leave a Reply

